Monthly Archives: November 2016

Emerging visions: career success factors in Australian screen production

[title_box title="Emerging visions" subtitle="career success factors in Australian screen production" custom_class="home1"] Craig Rossiter Queensland University of Technology craig@ignitionfilms.com.au Celeste Alcaraz Griffith University c.alcaraz@griffith.edu.au Abstract A long-term career in screen production is elusive for most. An analysis of feature film and documentary credits by Screen Australia over the last 40 years suggests that only between 5…
Read more

Sci-fi movies 101: an international online collaboration and research-led production (starring robots)

[title_box title="Sci-fi movies 101" subtitle="an international online collaboration and research-led production (starring robots)" custom_class="home1"] Lisa Dethridge School of Media and Communication, RMIT University lisa.dethridge@rmit.edu.au Damian Schofield Department of Computer Science, State University of New York damian.schofield@oswego.edu Abstract This paper discusses an example of global media production in an educational context that is also a model…
Read more

Virtual historical reality: verisimilitude and the history documentary

[title_box title="Virtual historical reality" subtitle="verisimilitude and the history documentary" custom_class="home1"] Debra Beattie Queensland College of Art, Griffith University debra.beattie@griffith.edu.au Daniel Maddock Queensland College of Art, Griffith University d.maddock@griffith.edu.au Abstract There are two ways to conceive of the cinema of the Real: the first is to pretend that you can present reality to be seen; the…
Read more

The immersive cinematic sound space: audience perspectives

[title_box title="The immersive cinematic sound space" subtitle="audience perspectives" custom_class="home1"] Damian Candusso Charles Sturt University dcandusso@csu.edu.au Abstract The changing materiality of moving images and picture sources is a crucial aspect of the space in which screen stories are told. Technologies that capture and present moving images are responsible for our understanding of what we see as…
Read more

Rethinking genre theory for screenwriting practice: using Mikhail Bakhtin’s theory of discourse

[title_box title="Rethinking genre theory for screenwriting practice" subtitle="using Mikhail Bakhtin’s theory of discourse" custom_class="home1"] Simon Weaving University of Newcastle simon.weaving@newcastle.edu.au Abstract Screenwriters are frequently encouraged to use genre as an approach to developing their cinematic storytelling, but—with a personal interest in creating a feature length film noir film—I was concerned that applying genre conventions might…
Read more

Looking in a mirror or through a window: mainstream audiences and gay men portrayed in film and television

[title_box title="Looking in a mirror or through a window" subtitle="mainstream audiences and gay men portrayed in film and television" custom_class="home1"] Nick Bamford Bournemouth University nbamford@bournemouth.ac.uk Abstract As 21st century LGBTI emancipation continues apace, screen representations are following suit. But all too often gay-themed films attract only gay audiences, and so tend to “preach to the…
Read more

Transformative meeting: the creative moment in screen performance

[title_box title="Transformative meeting" subtitle="the creative moment in screen performance" custom_class="home1"] Helen Goritsas Academy of Information Technology helen.goritsas@ait.nsw.edu.au Abstract In this paper the creative moment in screen performance will be examined. An encounter theory of modern cinema will be introduced and the connectedness of the process of screen performance in filmmaking and its reception explored. The…
Read more

The scholarly studio: developing a new aesthetic of the multi-camera television studio as an academic research tool

[title_box title="The scholarly studio" subtitle="developing a new aesthetic of the multi-camera television studio as an academic research tool" custom_class="home1"] Trevor Hearing Bournemouth University thearing@bournemouth.ac.uk Abstract This paper examines the potential to develop live multi-camera screen production methods as a scholarly form of communication. Drawing on experimental work in broadcasting in the 1970s and early 1980s,…
Read more

Evocative moments with smartphone cameras

[title_box title="Evocative moments with smartphone cameras" custom_class="home1"] Marsha Berry RMIT University marsh.berry@rmit.edu.au Abstract Photography and video making have become entangled with mobility and mobile social media as experienced in everyday life. This, in turn has affected how smartphones and applications influence contemporary everyday aesthetics. Romance, memory, nostalgia, playfulness and epiphany all play a part in…
Read more

Narrative comedy screenwriting: the role of critical reflection in creative practice

[title_box title="Narrative comedy screenwriting" subtitle="the role of critical reflection in creative practice" custom_class="home1"] Susan Cake Queensland University of Technology sue.cake@hdr.qut.edu.au Abstract Larger classes, reduced class contact time and increased use of casual staff pose challenges to holistic, project-based approaches to teaching screenwriting in the vocational education and training (VET) sector. This paper examines the impact…
Read more